Home of the Saints

Saints 3 Talgarth Town FC 1.

October 1st, 2017

Jenks and Burkey.

The Saints took the lead after two minutes when veteran striker Kevin Jones saw his looping header beat Martin Norwood in the Talgarth goal.

More Saints pressure followed and it was soon 2-0, youngster Darren Horrigan picked the ball 22 yards out and hit a curling left foot effort in the top corner of the net giving Norwood no chance.

In the 20th minute Chris Preece was penalised for handball, the Saints skipper was not happy with the decision and was booked for his protests. Striker Kyle O’Shea scored from the spot to bring his team back into the game.

The Saints carried on putting the visitors on the back foot and in the 34th minute a quickly taken Will Goodwin throw in found striker Matty Tong who turned on the edge of the area and shot first time from 20 yards out, the ball nestled into the bottom left corner of the net. 3-1

Ht 3-1

The second half continued with The Saints seeing more of the ball but not really causing Talgarth a lot of problems in front of goal, up the other end Tom Bevan deputising for the injured Steve Jones had a quiet evening.

There was a scare late on after a couple of Saints changes, Talgarth’s best player Ben Sharmen whipped in a cross from the left which Bevan tipped onto the bar, the ball falling to O’Shea who had all the time in the world but he headed over with the goal at his mercy.

Down the other end, Jones and Tong saw shots saved by Norwood, the game fizzled out with the score still at 3-1.

Ft 3-1


A game we looked comfortable in throughout in front of a good crowd, our sponsor gave man of the match to Kevin Jones who did play well but I thought our two centre backs Chris Preece and Adam Finn were outstanding all night.

The penalty decision was a strange one, I didn’t see it, half the ground said it was and half said it wasn’t, who would want to be a referee!

Many thanks to match sponsor Gareth Ratcliffe.

Team –

Tom Bevan, Will Goodwin, Chris Preece, Adam Finn, Richard Meredith, Callum Maddy, Jamie Howard, Wilf Ratcliffe, Darren Horrigan, Matty Tong and Kevin Jones. Subs Tom Pavey, Harry Ratcliffe and Harry Gilbert.



Online Cashback